Make A Difference


By: Roosevelt Williams

Every morning I wake up anticipating that it will be a good day

Still pondering on what could have been and the choices I have made yesterday

Asking myself “Did I make a difference?”

Looking at my clock, its 6:43, and time to hit the street

I-71 north which leads me to my destination

Home of the Linden- McKinley STEM Academy Panthers

Where the students look like me, with a different outlook on reality

See there reality is “GET IT OR GET GOT”

Crack babies, empty stomachs and no food in the fridge

Some kids don’t even know who their real parent is

But……..I look like them

Red vest, Khakis and Timbs will I make difference to at least one of these kids

So I lace my boots up, tuck my shirt in and put a smile on my face

Leading the best way I can

All I get is a stale face, fights, cursing and boredom

Still I tutor, mentor hoping to learn, lead and transform

But my starfish story just got written up on a peak form

Well, there goes my day

Nothing but second guesses and questions

I sleep at night and do it all again….

So every morning I wake up anticipating that it will be a good day

Still pondering on what could have been and the choices I have made yesterday

Asking myself “Did I make a difference?”

When I get approached by a student that says

“Hey Mr. Roosevelt, Thank you!”

Leave a Reply

