Star of the Month Interviews


By: Melissa Santiago

Every month at Weinland Park Elementary School, City Year gives out the “Star of the Month” award to students who demonstrate spirit, discipline, purpose, and pride. The students are considered role models to their peers and honored in the school with their picture on a poster that hangs where everyone can see it. The students are also interviewed like celebrities and given a prize when they’re commended during part of a schoolwide assembly. The award is a well respected honor that students strive to achieve and are pleased to obtain. The winners for the month of October are Jennifer Wilson (3rd grade) and Guillermo Gonzalez (1st grade). Their interviews are given below.
3rd grade winner: Jennifer Wilson
What is your favorite color? Pink (and sometimes purple)
Favorite food? Fried chicken
Favorite memory? One time I went to Dairy Queen and ate my ice cream so fast I got brain freeze and couldn’t move.
What do you want to be when you grow up? A 5th grade teacher
Is there anyone you want to give a special thanks to for your education? My City Year, Ms. Melissa for helping me every morning and every afternoon with my schoolwork
What does it mean to you to be a Star of the Month? I’m excited and my friends are jealous because they want a prize and their picture to be on a poster in the school. I told them if they act like me, maybe next month they’ll win.
What did you do to be a Star of the Month this month? I’m respectful to my teacher, I always work hard, and I get along with everyone in my class. One time two of my classmates were arguing and I helped them calm down and don’t them it wasn’t a big deal so they’re still friends now and they hugged and made up.
1st grade winner: Guillermo Gonzalez
What is your favorite color? Firetruck Red
Favorite food? Chicken
Favorite memory? Looking at the stars
What do you want to be when you grow up? Dentist
Is there anyone you want to give a special thanks to for your education? My teacher Mr. Carrington!
What does it mean to you to be a Star of the Month? It’s cool. I have my put up in the school!
What did you do to be a Star of the Month this month? I don’t talk when I’m not supposed to, I’m quiet in line, I always do my work, and I help my classmates. I also jump rope at recess everyday
Leave a Reply

