Meet the Blog Dream Team; Final Edition


Roosevelt Williams

Hello, my name is Roosevelt Williams.  I will be proudly serving as the Team Leader at Linden McKinley Stem Academy for the 2011-2012 school year.  I’m a 23 year old graduating senior from Central State University.  I enjoy playing video games,  outdoor activities,  working out,  friends and family.

Why City Year??? A couple of years ago,  I was selected to work for the Upward Bound program working with youth which quickly made me realize that working with kids was my passion.  After my completion of the program,  my career plans shifted from business to education.  City Year gives me  hands on experience before I enter graduate school/ teaching.  Eventually I want to focus more on the leadership realm which entails administration.  I’m very excited to work with a community of people who share the interest and passion I have for the new chapter in our lives through City Year!!!!! With that being said, the first couple of days at LMSA have been great! I have learned a lot about classroom management and what it really means to be an effective teacher.  There have been some complications on how to approach students; but the training that I have received has really helped me work through these obstacles.  I believe that this year will be a great success, our team’s hard work, dedication and cohesiveness will make huge strides in the end.

I would like to end with a funny story.  It’s kind of a ripple.  Kevin, the team leader at Hamilton, shared with the corps a story about this incredible game called the “quiet game”.  This was a game used to conquer the craziness that disrupted City Year’s afterschool programming.  I had the perfect opportunity to put this game to use yesterday.  While strutting my stuff as a TL,  I heard a class that was calling my name.  I walk in and the room was a complete mess! The teacher sees me and started to go on a tangent about how the kids were acting today.  Instantly I thought of the quiet game! I used this and the kids were very receptive to my CY culture!  I thought it was amazing that they reacted so positively.  I rewarded them with another game before lunch which was “signs”.  We played two rounds and they said it “sucked” even though they all played.   Overall, I felt good I stepped in and redirected the craziness.  The teacher even gave me a compliment as I left.  She told me “You are going to make a great teacher”.



Leave a Reply

